Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Dyeing 103 – The Color Wheel(s)

Last Friday, I had the house all to myself for the entire day.

This meant play day, all day long for me.

I decided that it would be a great day to dye fabric.

A few months ago, I signed up for another of Candy’s online fabric dyeing classes.  This one is  Dyeing 103: Multi-Colored Cotton Fabric.

The first project for this class is to use 3 primary colors to dye 12 different colors and make a color wheel.

I started with 3 yards of a  White on White Feather Print and divided it into 12 Fat Quarters.

12 Hand Dyed Fat Quarters

The smaller squares attached to each piece (they were attached all the way through the dye process) started as a solid white muslin so that I could also get the result of dyeing the plain white without having to do an entire piece, right now.

As I was pressing these finished fat quarters, I was thinking about the White Snowflakes on White Fabric that I recently saw at my LQS, and how much I would like colorful snowflake fabric, too.

Since this was Christmas in July Sale Week, I stopped in and bought 3 yards.
Snowflake Fabrics 2 Shades of 12 Colors
This time, I decided to do Fat Eighths, in 2 shades of the same colors used for the feathers fabric.

The shading is very subtle on some of the colors and more noticable on others.
Snowflakes and Feathers Hand Dyes
Here they are, all together.

My first project with my newly hand dyed fabrics.

I just had to make a small project using the new fabrics!

(Not the best fabric/project combo, but it was fun to make.)

The flower is from  the book Aunt Millie’s Garden.

I digitized the flower for machine embroidery and used my Brother Scan N Cut to cut the applique pieces.

Twelve Step Color Wheel - Naturals Primaries x 4

 

Even though I used the same dye stock for each fabric, I made a color wheel for each one to record the difference between plain fabric and printed fabrics, as well as the subtle differences between the concentrations of the dyes on the same fabrics.

Play time is such a fun way to learn!

Leave a Reply

