Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Finishing My Lone Star Wall Quilt

Small projects are great for learning new techniques.

They are also easy to finish in a short period of time.

 

This one is a project from the Luminous Lone Star Craftsy class that I won, that I wrote about in my last post. The class project was to make a pillow, but I chose to make a wall quilt instead.

I should practice this one again, at least one more time before moving onto the bigger projects in the class, just to reinforce my skills doing inset seams.

This is actually my second project using set in seams. The first one, Go! Be Dazzled, which is MUCH bigger, needs to have those inset seams “improved” before I quilt it, so it currently sits in the closet.

(2014.04.06.3of3)

This is the hand dyed piece that I used a portion of for the star and border in this project.

The inset squares and triangles that make up the background are left over from the backing for my Hand Dyed Scrappy Trip Around the World Quilt (which still needs to be quilted).

I will use the same purple for the binding.

2014.04.06.1of3

I used a portion of a second, coordinating, hand dyed piece for the backing.

I quilted this on my Baby Lock Tiara.

I was impatient and anxious to get it under the quilting needle, and as a result, I am not very happy with the first area that I quilted, the 4 purple corner blocks.

I had an idea of what I wanted to do, but did not take the time to properly plan and mark. I saw a nice design in Judi Madsen‘s book, liked it and I tried to freehand it.

Fail!

For most quilting designs, I am not yet experienced enough to quilt without at least some markings to guide me.

My favorite part of the quilting is the borders, which was inspired by Angela Walter’s Dot to Dot Quilting class. I made a plan and marked my quilting lines and it paid off.

I also like the purple triangles. These, too, were marked before quilting.

The straight lines in the diamonds were marked, but the rounded designs on the outer halves were not. I have mixed feelings on the end result for these.

Here is a view of the backside. On smaller projects like this, I like to use triangles in the corners with a small round café rod or a wooden dowel for hanging.

I am happy with this project, but definitely feel that I can do better on the quilting.

Practice, practice, practice!

J

Project Details:

Finished Size is 18.5″ Square

Hand Dyed #2014.04.06.1of3

Hand Dyed #2014.04.06.3of3

Left Over Purple from Scrappy Trip Around The World Quilt

Pieced with Aurifil 50 wt. Cotton Thread Color #2024 (white)

Quilted with Marathon 60 wt.Trilobal Polyester Thread, Color #2141 (lt. grey)

FYI: If you sign up for any Craftsy classes, purchased or free, using the links on this blog, I will receive a portion of the proceeds. Of course, I will most likely use these proceeds to purchase additional Craftsy classes, so thank you for supporting my crafty education.

 

Leave a Reply

