Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Oops! I Won a Craftsy Class!

Sandy, at Quilting for the Rest of Us Podcast & Blog just celebrated her 4th Podcastiversary (podcast anniversary).

To celebrate, she hosted 2 give aways, one for a gift certificate to the Fat Quarter Shop and one for a Craftsy Class.

This is where the Oops! in this blog title comes in.

The contest was set to run through Sunday, April 6th, but on Tuesday, April 1st, I received an e-mail from Craftsy telling me that they drew my name as the winner of the free class. Yeah me!  But like I said, the contest was set to run for several more days. They notified Sandy at the same time and she immediately let Craftsy know that the contest was not yet over, so they generously drew another winner at the end of the contest.

So, what class did I choose?

Luminous Lone Star

With Courtenay Hughes

The class consists of 7 lessons.

  1. Getting Started
  2. Lone Star Pillow Top
  3. Four Color Lone Star Quilt
  4. Continuing the Four Color Lone Sar Quilt
  5. Baby Lone Star Block
  6. Foundation Lone Star
  7. Bonus Lesson: Troubleshooting

I have watched about half of the classes so far and actually completed the first project, but instead of making mine into a pillow, I am making it into a wall quilt.

I am using more of my hand dyed fabrics for this project. This is the center star, ready for those inset seams.

So far, so good!

After setting in the final pieces, I trimmed as directed and started to add the borders. I did not like the large gap between the star points and the border, so I removed the border and cut the block down to a smaller size and re-attached the borders.

Now to quilt it.

I am using more hand dyed fabric for the backing and binding.

Happy 4th Podcastiversary to Sandy! Thanks for the class!

1 Comment

  1. Ren

    Wow. That center star is gorgeous! Thanks for linking up to Inspire Us Thursday on The Inspired Wren.

Leave a Reply

