Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Arizona Quilters Guild 2014 Quilt Show ~ My Favorite Favorites

2014 AZ Quilt Show ~ Part 1

My Favorite Favorites

This was the week end that the Arizona Quilters Guild held their annual quilt show.

I went with the intention of coming home with lots of photos.

I enjoy taking the time to admire the beautiful quilts while I am standing in front of them, but I really get to appreciate them when I get back home.

I like to study the photos, close up.  I see details that I did not notice when I was right there with them.

I also play the photos as a slide show on the TV screen in my sewing room. Talk about inspiration!

*

Here are some of my most favorite favorites.

*

Stargazer     *     Pieced by Carol Mockenhaupht      Quilted by Ann Skitt

I LOVE the transition of the shades of  pinks with the gray accents!

***

Hope of Hartford Double Star Quilt    *    Carma Reiss

The green accent is a great accent.

***

Purple Agave    *    Vicky Bohnhoff

It looks like light is shining from within.

***

Feathered Star Frustration    *     JoAnn Taylor Rice

In the Hoop Machine Embroidered. This is one that I might tackle when the time is right.

***

Pickle Prominade    *    Betty Santa

This one was also machine embroidered, but I am not as familiar with the pattern/design.  There is so much that I really like about this quilt.

***

Orange Glow   *   Alyce Leach

This is one of several Pineapple Block quilts that were all on display together.

***

Fall Harvest    *     Alyce Leach

Another version of the Pineapple Block quilt.

I didn’t realize until I was inserting and labeling this photo that both of these were made by the same person. She is so very creative with the use of appliques on an already wonderful quilt.

***

Spool Quilt    *    Alyce Leach

Another reason I appreciate having these photos: I just now realized that this is yet another quilt by Alyce Leach. I obviously like her work.

I would love to make one like this for my sewing room. Maybe someday.

***

I had a hard time limiting my favorites for sharing. I hope you enjoyed looking at them. I will continue my Quilt Show experience in a separate post very soon.

Stay Tuned.

Leave a Reply

