Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Where Has The New Year Gone???

It is almost the end of March and this really is my very first blog post of 2014!

It isn’t that I don’t have anything to share.  In fact, it is quite the opposite, I am keeping very busy.   I just have not been taking the time to document anything.

My intention for this blog, besides sharing with anyone that might be interested, is to be able to look back and remind myself of the projects that I have done, as well as when, how  and maybe even why I did them.

I really should catch up, so here goes!

***

Obviously, January started out with a Holiday.  We always tend to just hang out at home for this one, so it was a pretty uneventful start to the year.

That is, for the first week, anyway. The rest of the month was quite full.

***

 

Several of my friends and I attended the Anita Goodesign 10th Anniversary Party here in Phoenix. This is a FUN event intended to promote sales of not only Anita Goodesign products, but Brother Sewing/Embroidery machines as well. I did not buy a new embroidery machine, but 4 of the 12 at my table did.

 

.

11899142956_7c6bb3328f_n

 

What I did buy was the new Brother Scan N Cut. Several of us took one of these home that day. My main interest in using it is to cut applique pieces for machine embroidered applique and make my own stencils. I have played with it a bit, but not as much as I would like.

***

Next came a couple of personal events.

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary and later that same week was my oldest son’s 26th birthday, so we made a day trip to Tucson where he and my younger son live.

***

 

Later in the month, I got to go on my very first cruise. It was a girls trip, 12 of us in all. It was only 3 days, but enough to give me a taste of cruise life, and I liked it.

We departed from Long Beach, California, on a Friday evening. The ship was docked in Ensenada Mexico for the day on Saturday. Sunday was a day at sea (just far enough out to not see land) and we were back in Long Beach Monday morning when we woke up.

Fun times with fun people!

***

At the very end of January, just a week after the cruise, I met up with friends again to spend the day at the Rusty Barn Quilt/Craft/Sewing Festival.

Even though I was spending time with my embroidery friends and attending embroidery and sewing events, I did not do any actual projects during the month of January.

Maybe next month.

I will catch up with February and March in a separate post, hopefully sooner rather than later! J

 

Leave a Reply

