Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Just Checking In…

I can’t believe it has been a full month since I made a blog post. It isn’t that I don’t have anything to blog about.

I have been doing SO MUCH to blog about that I just didn’t take/make the time to actually blog about any of it. Hopefully, I will catch you up on a few recent projects and events in separate posts over the next week or so.

So today, I will tell you about a table runner that I made recently. It was inspired by the awesome table runners made by Leslie at Marveles Art Studios Blog.  She also has an Etsy Shop.

I was dyeing some fabrics a couple of week-ends ago. I was just experimenting and not really keeping track of the colors or the techniques, or even which fabrics that I used, and now I am wishing that I would have because I LOVE the piece that I used in the runner.

At the same time, I dyed another piece that coordinates perfectly for use as a backing.

Once the quilt sandwich was made, I used a chalk pencil to draw a free form spine and quilted my first feather. I guess I was not brave enough in my choice of thread colors, the feather is barely visible. (It is on the right side.)

It is said that if you are new to FMQ, your thread color should blend with your fabric so that any goofs will just blend in. I don’t want my goofs to show, but I would like to have something to show for my efforts!

Staying with the same thread color (I didn’t want to change horses mid-stream), I continued quilting the feathers, which were then “Hyper Quilted” with the greenish yellow within the feathers and then echo stitched around the outside of the feathers until the background was nicely filled in.  Afterward, I did go back over my original feather stitches with a darker thread and they are more visible now.

In time, I will get braver with my thread color choices as I build my confidence in my quilting skills. I am really enjoying learning how to quilt on my Baby Lock Tiara.

There was enough of the top fabric left to be used as binding.  The finished size is 10.75″ x 33″.

Doesn’t it look pretty on the glass top coffee table?

This was fun to make and as usual, I learned quite a bit in the process of making it.

1 Comment

  1. Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

