Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Baby Giraffes Baby Quilt Part 2

In this post, I will share my process of finishing the Baby Giraffes Baby Quilt.

As I mentioned in my last post, I like lots of photos and details so that I can look back later and remind myself “how I did it”.

I hope you learn something from this post as well.

Once the final layout was decided, I stitched the blocks together from top to bottom forming columns that were then sewn together.

I used a solid blue (Kona Cloud) for the borders and backing. After layering the quilt, using an 80/20 batting, I stitched in the ditch along all of the straight seams on my Brother Duetta 4500D.

Then it was time to figure out a cute design for quilting it on my Tiara.

I auditioned several designs by drawing with a dry erase marker on thin plastic that is available at Joann’s and the fabric department at Walmart.

I put blue painters tape at the edges to be sure that I don’t end up drawing on the quilt, instead of the plastic.

The designs wipe right off of the plastic with a scrap piece of batting.

It seems that circles are becoming the quilting theme for this quilt. I used one of my Creative Grids nested circles quilting templates to quilt the overlapping circles in the 9-patch blocks.

Quilting inside the circle template on my Baby Lock Tiara.

These quilting templates are ¼” thick, which is necessary for the Tiara, so that they don’t slip under the hopping foot and break the needle, or worse, cause problems for the machine.

So far, so good.

I was having a harder time holding the HandiQuilter Mini Circles Template in place and moving the quilt under the needle at the same time, to quilt the smaller circles in the block borders. I only did one block this way.

For the other 3 block borders, I just marked connecting circles using this circles template and then just quilting over the quilted lines.

For the borders, I continued the circles theme by using a smaller one of the Creative Grids circle quilting templates.

After determining the size circle that would fit within the border, allowing space for trimming and adding the binding, I drew a centering line and quilted the circles so the one would touch the one next to it.  Quilting inside of these circle grids is really easy on the Tiara.

After quilting an outline stitch around the embroidered area, I decided to fill in the background with some FMQ. Obviously, I am still SO new to FMQ. I am wishing I would have used a finer, lighter color thread for quilting around the giraffes, but I am sure that the baby won’t mind the quilting at all.

Here it is finished.

The quilting from the back side.

I am pretty impressed with my binding, this is by far the best result I have had binding a project. I cut my binding strips for this quilt to 3″ and used Sharon Schamber’s binding technique that uses Elmer’s School glue.

I didn’t take the time to be certain that my border circles will meet properly in the corners. That will be something I will figure out on future quilts.

I am SO happy that I was able to complete this with plenty of extra time to show it off to some of my friends before wrapping it for gifting.

Fabrics Used

Kona Cloud: Backing and Outer Borders

Shadow Play by Maywood Studio-MAS513-WWB: Blocks Background and Nine Patches

Joann’s Nursery Baby Basic- Dots White on Blue: Nine Patches

Joann’s Nursery Baby Basic- Dots Blue on White: Block Borders and Quilt Binding

Batting Used

Fairfield Quilters 80/20

Threads Used

Aurifil 50wt Mako #2600 : Quilt Assembly, and Binding

Robison-Anton 40wt Rayon : All Quilting

Embroidery Designs Used

 Anita Goodesign Baby Giraffes

2 Comments

  1. Wonderful work! The quilt is adorable. I haven’t used any templates yet with my Sweet 16. Where did you find the ones that you use? I’ll have to check put that binding method too.

    • Sylvia,
      The templates that I used were from Creative Grids, I bought them at my LQS a while back. Unfortunately, Creative Grids has discontinued these, but the lady that originally created them is marketing circle and square templates herself. Her name is Pat Barry and here is the link to the page where they are available:
      http://www.patbarryquilts.com/shop/category/products/

Leave a Reply

