Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Do I Dare Start A New Project?

My plan was to finish a couple of my UFO’s and Projects in Progress before even considering starting a new project.

Well….. The girl that has been cutting my hair for several years is going to be a first time grandma very soon and I decided to make a baby quilt for her grandson. He is due in July and so is my next appointment with her. I have several extra days off from work over the next couple of weeks, so I plan to make this the priority project and have it complete before my next appointment with her.

I have wanted to use this embroidery design set for a long time. It is Baby Giraffes by Anita Goodesign. I bought the dotted fabric from Joann’s yesterday, along with a blue solid (not pictured). The 2 blues on the left were purchased today, at my LQS, after I did a test stitch out yesterday on the Joann fabrics.

The solid blue is Joann’s Symphony Broadcloth. That has to be the absolute worst fabric I have ever bought. The ripples around the embroidery are not from improper stabilizing, they were caused by the fabric shrinking and distorting from the iron. I am glad that I only bought a half yard with a 50% coupon. I will probably use the slightly mottled blue fabric in the first photo for the embroidery background. My plan is to use about 6 of the embroidery designs to make large blocks and then use the dotted fabrics and maybe the new, much better quality, solid blue to make additional quilt blocks.

So…. While the embroidered blocks are stitching, I plan to work on the binding for my Easy Street. I quilted it on my Tiara and it is ready to trim and bind.

I am also hoping to make a list of all of my UFO’s and PHD’s while I have the extra time off.

Leave a Reply

