Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Preparing A BIG Project For Retreat

In just 2 weeks, I will be going on my first “Girl’s Sewing Retreat Week-end”.   It will be at the Tonto Ridge View Lodge  in Payson, AZ.   It is about a 2 ½ hour drive from home. I will be riding along with 2 of my sewing buddies and a few other quilty/stitchy ladies will be there as well.   The lodge has a separate building set up for sewing, quilting or whatever type of craft project you would like to bring along.  We are each bringing our own specific projects, the lodge provides the meals. 🙂

Tonto Rim View Lodge

I kicked around a few project ideas and finally settled on Sarah Vedeler’s Go! Bedazzled quilt.

Be Dazzled by Sarah Vedeler

 It is a machine embroidered appliqué project that is then pieced and quilted.  The embroidery designs are digitized to perfectly stitch and embellish appliqué pieces cut with the Accuquilt dies.  She also provides cutting templates for cutting the appliqué pieces by hand.  Sarah’s written instructions seem to be written specifically for Bernina owners, but the designs are provided in all formats for all machines.  I do not have a Bernina, so I need to use her instructions as a guide, adapting them for my specific hoop size for my Brother Duetta 4500D.

2013.3.9.036

I bought a few pieces of fabrics yesterday that I think I will be using.  I have a ton of embroidery thread and will pick my thread colors as I am stitching it out.

 I know that two of the fabrics seem dark, but I am hoping to emulate the quilt that motivated me to actually do this quilt:

 Go Bedazzled

This quilt was made by Sandy Lawrence and won Best of Show at the 2012 Arizona Quilters Guild Quilt Show.

I will stitch one or more blocks today to see if I am happy with my fabric choices, if I am, I will get the rest of the yardage tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

