Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Reporting In for First Week of March-A-Long

During the month of March, Darla, over at Scientific Quilter Podcast and blog is hosting a Quilty March-A-Long. This is a 15 minute per day challenge to do something quilty each day. At the end of each week, she invites us to report our challenge results on her blog, which will then qualify participants to be entered into a drawing at the end of the month for Leah Day’s beginning Free Motion Quilt book patterns called from Daisy to Paisley .
Darla will comment on these updates in her podcast.

Here is my update for the week:
Sunday:
Today I was able to stitch out 2 of the bonus blocks of AnitaGoodesign’s Tree of Life
embroidery design set. I plan to do the entire Tree of Life wall quilt but wanted to try out the bonus blocks first.

2013.3.9.004

2013.3.9.003* * * * *

Monday:
Mondays are an especially tiring day for me since it is the first day back at work after being on my own schedule over the week-end, so not much time is spent in the sewing room.   I did manage to stitch out another embroidered block.

2013.3.9.002* * * * *

Tuesday:
I stopped by my local LQS to use a coupon I had for some fabric for my future Tree of Life Quilt.  As usual, I read through some sewing/embroidery/quilting group emails and looked at a few blogs in the evening.

* * * * *

Wednesday:
I stitched the 4th and final Tree of Life bonus block and trimmed all four of them to size.

2013.3.9.001

2013.3.9.005

They are ready to sew together, quilt and bind.

* * * * *

Thursday:
I spent Thursday evening doing just a little bit of FMQ practice on my Tiara.  Nothing to show, just practicing on a quilt sandwich.

* * * * *
Friday:
Friday is Day 1 of 2 of the Dental Convention, attending classes and visiting vendors, so I am away from home for an even longer day than usual and have to drive in heavy, slow traffic both ways. The only quilty motivation today is to read blogs and e-mails.

* * * * *
Saturday:
Day 2 of 2 at the Dental Convention. The vendors are not there today, so just a class in the morning. Traffic is also not as bad since it is not a week day. On my way home, I stopped at the Library and returned a couple of Quilting books that were due today and could not be renewed since others have requested them. I picked up a Zentangle book while I was there. Tonight, I plan to look for all of my UFO’s and gather them in a central location so that I can work on getting some of them finished.

* * * * *

I do feel that I met the challenge of spending at least 15 minutes each day doing something quilty related, even if it was just reading about it.  🙂

* * * * *
I am linking this post to Darla’s blog where you can read Darla’s updates, as well as updates of others who are joining in on the challenge. She will also be commenting on these updates on her podcast.   It is not too late to join the March-A-Long yourself.

3 Comments

  1. Hi June,
    You’ve had a busy week! I really like the embroidered blocks. I haven’t tried to make a quilt with embroidered blocks before. That looks like something fun to do. Have a great week!

  2. Beautiful blocks! With them not together yet, it is like looking out the window. 🙂

  3. These blocks are sweet and cute!

Leave a Reply

