Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

I Won a Blog Hop Drawing!

Several months ago, I found a blog that I find very full of creative inspiration. MarvelesArtStudios is included in my list of tabs that open each time that I open my browser, so that I remember to visit daily.
Recently, Leslie was a participant in a stencil blog hop.  In addition to a drawing for the stencils that she was demonstrating, she also drew names for a couple of small stitched samples that she made using the stencils.  One of those names was mine!

2013.2.3.004

Here is what I received.

I often study the details of Leslie’s work, but always from the photos on the computer.

 Even though this piece is small, it gives me the opportunity to examine the details, on the real thing, right in front of me.  Plus it is just fun to have something hand made by someone else.

Leslie’s piece inspired the quilting pattern I used on my most recent mini quilt that will be my February Quilt A Month Club submission for AAQI.  It is simple straight line quilting in planned, random placement.

IMG_0610dI was trying a new to me technique for binding.  It got a off square at the lower left corner, which was the first corner that I attempted, since I wasn’t quite sure what I was doing.   It should turn out better next time, now that I understand the technique better.

IMG_0617b

As usual, I added the triangle corners for inserting the small dowel for hanging.

I definitely plan to try some of the stencil techniques demonstrated by several of the hop’s participating bloggers.

3 Comments

  1. Congratulations – a lovely surprise! =D

  2. Congrats on the win and your little quilt is absolutely beautiful! Maybe if I tried small I’d make one of these. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. I like your prize and your mini quilt. I like how you added the triangle corners for the dowel. I haven’t seen that before. Neat idea. Thanks for sharing at Funday
    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

