Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Nearing The End Of Easy Street

I am not new to sewing. I used to sew my own casual clothes years ago (plan to do so again, soon).  I have made a couple of rag quilts,  I make mini art quilts for AAQI and I have even joined and quilted embroidered blocks into wall quilts.

Until just recently, though, I have never made a bed quilt.

WELL….. That is (mostly) no longer true.

I have been wanting to make a real quilt for quite some time.  I listen to podcasts about quilting,  I study photos and read anything and everything I can related to quilting, so I have a comfortable familiarity with the process.  But, experience is the true teacher, and boy did I get some experience in cutting and piecing recently.

Back in October, Bonnie Hunter was getting ready to run her annual Mystery Quilt Along.  Several of the podcasters that I listen to were saying they were going to do it.  Bonnie said that this one would be easier than those that she had done in the past, and I decided that I can do easy and that I would join in.  Boy, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

It started out easy enough, just had to go pick out fabric.  Then over the next couple of weeks, Bonnie would provide cutting and/or sewing instructions for various units that would later be made into blocks.  I was impressed with how I was able to keep up.  Then all of a sudden, the rest of the instructions were released one right after the other, and I was out of town for the Holidays for 2 of those releases.  It is not a race and there are no deadlines, but I wanted to keep up.  I have stayed focused.  It is very close to being a finished quilt top.

This quilt top has taught me a lot.  I have seen my cutting improve.  I used templates for the first time.  I made my first flying goose units.  I can see a definite improvement in my piecing skills from those first four patches all the way through to completing all of those blocks and triangles.

IMG_0484

Since my piecing in the beginning was not that great, my blocks were off a bit. They are supposed to be 15.5″ square and finish in the quilt at 15″ square.

IMG_0486

 Well, most of mine were not 15.5″, in fact some were just barely at 15″ to start with so I trimmed them all to 15″.

 

IMG_0488

Here are all of the “A” blocks laid out.

IMG_0490

The “B” blocks have been set into place.

IMG_0493

The corner and setting triangles complete the layout.  Now to sew it all together!

🙂

I hope to finish it tomorrow and then just put it away for a while.  It will officially become a UFO.

I still need to decide on what type of batting to use (I am not sure of the look that I want it to have after laundering).  I need to decide if I want to add borders or not.  I want to take time to practice quilting on my Babylock Tiara before attempting to quilt this top, plus I really don’t know how I want it quilted.

I am really glad that I didn’t know about this quilt before I decided to do it, because if I did I would have decided against it and I would have missed out on a wonderful learning opportunity and a pretty awesome quilt (top, atleast!).

2 Comments

  1. Your Easy Street turned out beautifully. I also have some steps that are not measuring up to 3.5 inches, and I’m hoping it doesn’t cause problems when I start to sew the blocks. I love your colors too!

    • Angie, When I realized that some of my units were not measuring the full 3.5 inches, I tried to compensate while stitching the units together, either with a smaller seam allowance, or just a smaller part of that particular unit included in the seam allowance.
      When I learned of Bonnie’s method of using a card for a seam guide, my seams were much more consistent.

Leave a Reply

