Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

FNSI My Project Is Ready To Bind

This past Friday night was the monthly Friday Night Sew In hosted by Heidi and her cousin Bobbi. I almost forgot to sign up, but my new online friend Sylvia reminded me. Thanks Sylvia!

I have been an embroidery and sewing maniac for the past couple of months. I need to post an update on my Christmas Town wall quilt, but will save that for a separate post.

For FNSI, I continued to work on my Christmas Table Runner. I pieced it a couple of weeks ago, with only an idea of how I was going to make it and no idea of how I was going to quilt it.
I have to say that a project with a plan definitely finishes nicer than a project without a plan.

This was my first attempt at piecing pinwheels, and I think I did a great job matching the points.


I started out making red & white and green & white pinwheels.

When I got ready to put them together, I felt like they were missing something, so I made red and green pinwheels to add to the mix.

The layout is so-so, but it is a learning project, so I am happy enough with it.

I am also VERY new to Free Motion Quilting. After finally deciding on what I thought was a fairly simple design, I practiced for a while and then went for it.

After doing a few areas, I realized it was a bit much, but did not want to rip out what I had done, and did not want to change the design so I kept at it. Also, I should have used a monofilament instead of white in the red and green areas.

  It is heavily quilted, not so neat, but again, it is a learning project, so it gave me plenty of beginner experience with the quilting.  It is now ready to bind.

I plan to use the red that is in the pinwheels for the binding. I will add a photo here later, after it is finished. I really like the size of it for my dining room table.

Since it was a learning project, I won’t worry about actually using it on the table for Holiday dinners.

4 Comments

  1. June, you did an outstanding job on your very first machine quilted project! You are a natural! It is a lovely table runner to use for Christmas.

  2. Hi June,
    Your table runner is beautiful! I love how you mixed in the red and green pinwheels in the center. You have a knack for design! And your free motion quilting is very nice.
    It looks like you had a very successful FNSI!

  3. HI June,
    Your table runner looks great! I love the design. You did a great job with it.

    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

