Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

May 2012 FNSI ~ My Project

My project for this month’s Friday Night Sew In is another mini quilt for AAQI. This one is called Flower Power, and I think it is pretty obvious why I chose this name.


Submission registrations for the Quilt a Month Club at Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative are due by the 20th. Yesterday was the 19th, and I had not yet decided what mine was going to be.
I was at my local Wal-mart yesterday and was stunned to see that they now have a fabric section. YEAH!
As I looked at the fabrics they had so far, the bright colors of a couple of prints caught my eye and I just had to have them.

I had just cut a few die cut flower designs and thought these shapes would work great with one or both of these fabrics.

I thought about using the second fabric as the binding.

After the shapes were fused and stitched and the background was quilted, I thought that the flowers just blended in with the background so I couched black cotton thread around the borders to make them stand out more.

I tried finishing the edges with a rattail finish, instead of binding with the other fabric, but I did not do it right and it looked messy so I just went over it a few times with a fairly tight zig-zag satin type of stitch.

This was the first time I tried this edging technique, so maybe next time it will look better.

Before doing the edging, I did add the fast finish triangles to each of the corners so that it could be hung in any direction.

I got it registered just in time!
*****
My Lemon with a Twist of Lime quilt was just added to the Quilts for Sale page at AAQI:

All proceeds benefit research.
Please consider making or buying one of these fun little quilts.

1 Comment

  1. All very cute, June! Isn’t it the best place to donate little quilts to, ever? How lovely of you and these are great fun!

Leave a Reply

