Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Christmas Sweat Shirts!

I had a productive evening participating in the first of 2 Friday Night Sew Ins for December. I needed some Holiday Sweatshirts, and now I have 3 new ones.


This is the first one that I worked on. I stitched the Merry Christmas Sleigh in Filigree design from Embroidery Library using red and metallic gold threads. I used a coordinating fabric for binding the sleeves, neckline and lower edge of the shirt. In the future, I would leave the lower band in place, the fit is just better with the ribbing than with the fabric trim.
I could not find a women’s sweatshirt in black at Walmart, so I tried one from the men’s department. The fit in the arms is WAY too huge.


This is the second sweatshirt. I stitched the Damask Santa Sleigh, also from Embroidery Library, on a white sweatshirt using a pretty Christmas Red thread.
I marked my placement lines with a yellow Chaco Liner, the fabric marker with the wheel, and was surprised to find that I could not remove the marks after I stitched my design (they do not show up in the photo, but are obvious on the shirt). Due to this, I decided not to embellish this shirt any further.


This is the third, and probably my favorite, of the three. I stitched the Very Merry Flamingo Christmas design, again from Embroidery Library, on a grey sweatshirt. I also removed the sleeve and neckline ribbing and replaced it with a pretty pink fabric that coordinates with the colors in the embroidered design.
Like the first one, I also removed the lower band of ribbing, but did not like the way the shirt hung, so I put it back on. In the future, I will be leaving this lower band of ribbing in place.  This shirt was inspired by another that I saw recently in Embroidery Library’s Facebook photos.

There is another Friday Night Sew In next Friday night, you are welcome to sign up and join in on the stitching.


Leave a Reply

