Stitched By Me

A place to share projects from my sewing room.

Oops, I missed the Sign up for FNSI Last Night!

I have been so busy playing with fabric and thread that I completely forgot to sign up for Friday Night Sew In this month.

I am in the middle of taking a small class with a couple of my sewing friends. We are making an art quilt based on a poinsettia panel. The lady that is teaching us has been an art quilter for a number of years and makes incredible quilts. This is a new venture for us and we are learning a lot from her.

Here are a few photos of my progress so far.

The quilt is wide enough that the pattern had to be drawn onto 2 separate sheets of craft paper. I thought it would be a good idea to pin it to the wall so that nobody would be walking on it while I worked on it.


The pattern pieces were cut from a variety of coordinating Christmas prints.


The pattern is used as a guide for placing the pieces.


It is starting to take shape.


My good idea of attaching the pattern to the wall wasn’t such a good idea, after all. The pieces began to get too heavy for the pattern to support them on the wall, so I had to move them to a flannel sheet on the floor temporarily.


The first week’s homework is done.


Now, to figure out how I will get it to the second class without it falling apart!

*****

When I got to the second class, several of the pieces did shift and come loose, but since all were numbered, it was pretty easy to put them back where they belong.

We don’t have our third class until the middle of December, so I should be able to make good progress on the second week’s homework. I will post updated photos when I get more done.

4 Comments

  1. Put it on a piece of batting or fabric, then roll it around a tube or one of those pool ‘noodles’ and tie it in several places. That should help you get it to class and home again without losing any pieces or folding it.

    • Cheryl, That is what I ended up doing. My concern was that I had over pressed the fusible web and it kept coming loose from the parchment sheet that it was temporarily fused to. Now that I actually have fabric pieces fused to each other, they are staying in place. I am excited to get this done and on the wall, although it may only be up for a few days this year. But then there is always next year!
      Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. supermom

    The poinsettia is going to be beautiful once you’ve finished.

    • Thanks, I am anxious to see it finished.

Leave a Reply

