My New Laptop Bag – Finished!

Last week, I blogged about my progress on my new laptop bag.

It is the Lilium Laptop Bag pattern from  Sara at SewSweetness.com

Front of Laptop BagIt is now finished!

The front flap snaps closed with a magnetic snap.  The strap has a slider on it so that I can shorten or lengthen the strap as needed.

Back of Laptop BagThe zippered pocket on the  back provides additional storage.

This pocket will be so handy during travel for storing important items that need to be accessed easily, such as airline tickets, ID and a small wallet.

Inside View of Laptop Bag with Computer InsideAnd it fits my computer perfectly.

The mouse and power cord stay in place in the pockets.

Inside View of Laptop BagWith pockets in the front and back, I can also tote my tablet and a couple of magazines in addition to the computer.  The zippered divider pocket will come in handy, I just don’t know for what, yet.

The fabrics used to make this bag are from my growing stash of hand dyed experiments.  I had enough of the gray fabric for the entire exterior, but all of the other parts were made from random pieces that were big enough for the part I was working on at the time.  I even had to “build” enough fabric for the interior side pockets by stitching some smaller pieces together.

This pattern went together easy enough since I have made bags before and pretty much understood what I was doing.

As the bag was closer to being finished, the bulk was a challenge to handle, but in the end, it turned out just as I hoped it would.

I did finish it in time to tote my computer to our girls sewing day and show it off.  :)

3 Comments

  1. What a fab job you have done. Found you through twitter. I also love to sew and quilt and have a blog too :)

  2. Diane Rincon

    This bag I really like. You’ve done a beautiful job sewing it and showing us how you sewed it. Your hand dyed fabrics really work here.Thanks for sharing the process!

  3. I love Sara’s patterns. You did a nice job on this one. I may have to make myself one.
    Jaye

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers